Important Notes on Upgrading from

rDirectory 1.4 or rDirectory 1.3.x

Summary:

This install package contains rDirectory 1.4.1

If you are upgrading from rDirectory 1.4

You should be award of the important changes that have been made regarding Roles before you upgrade. 

For details see the section below: Upgrading from 1.4

If you are upgrading from rDirectory 1.3.x

You should also be aware of important changes made to the installer and the install process.

For details see the section below: Upgrading from 1.3.x

 

Upgrading from rDirectory 1.4

With version 1.4.1 the rules as to which groups can be used as Roles have changed as follows:

1)      Only Security Groups can be used as Roles; Distribution Groups can no longer be used as Roles.

2)      Nested Security Groups will now be recognized as Roles.

3)      Computed Security Groups, such as Domain Users, will now be recognized as Roles.

Those upgrading from a prior version should be aware of the following:

a)      Any Distribution Groups previously used as Roles will no longer be recognized.  If you have a Distribution Groups used as an Allow Role, then users in that group will no longer be authorized.  If you have a Distribution Group used as a Deny Role, then users in that group will no longer be blocked. 

b)      Any Security Groups previously used as Roles will now recognize membership of any parent Security Groups these groups were a member of.

Before upgading to rDirectory 1.4.1, review the Groups you are using as Roles and replace all Distribution Groups with suitable Security Groups.

 

Upgrading from rDirectory 1.3.x

rDirectory 1.4.x includes a new installer and the upgrade from rDirectory 1.3.x to rDirectory 1.4.x involves additional steps not required by previous upgrades.

Like prior upgrades, upgrading to rDirectory 1.4.x requires that the prior version first be uninstalled.  Unlike prior upgrades, upgrading to rDirectory 1.4.x also requires that the Virtual Directory created when rDirectory 1.3.x was installed to be deleted with the IIS manager.  In addition, the default install path for rDirectory 1.4.x is different from default install path of rDirectory 1.3.x so additional attention must be paid to the actual install path selected.

Uninstalling rDirectory 1.3.x will not remove the custom Design Folder’s or other XML config file changes you have made, and if you install to the same install path, the old Design Folders will be available when rDirectory 1.4.x is first launched.  However it is recommended that for safety that a backup of the files under /Framework/Config/Store first be made.

New Install Options & Defaults:

rDirectory 1.4.x comes with new installation options and defaults.  rDirectory 1.3.x could only be installed as a Virtual Directory, used a default Virtual Directory name of ‘Namescape’, and always installed under the Default Website path (typically the default \Inewpub\wwwroot\ directory of IIS).  rDirectory 1.4.x can be installed either as a Website, or as a Virtual directory under an existing Website, uses a default Website or Virtual Directory names of ‘rDirectory’ rather than ‘Namescape’, and allows you to specify any physical path to install the files to.

WARNING

The Default install path for rDirectory 1.3.x was \Inetpub\wwwroot\Namescape, and the default install path for rDirectory 1.4.x is \Inetput\wwwroot\rDirectory.  If you uninstall rDirectory 1.3.x and install rDirectory 1.4.x using its default install path, you will not see the Design Folders you expect without restoring the Design Folder as specified below.


Upgrade Procedure

1)      For safety, backup any file customizations you have made after rDirectory 1.3.x was installed.  Typically this will only include one Design Folder; for example if your Design Folder is called ‘myFolder’ then backup the files under \Framework\Config\Store\Design\myFolder.

If you have manually made customizations to Defaults.config, SchemaRules.config or any other files, backup these files as well.

You can backup all files under \Framework\Config\Store if you like; however you should not restore this entire subdirectory.  Only restore the Design Folder and any files you have specifically customized.

2)      Uninstall rDirectory 1.3.x using the Add / Remove Programs

3)      Using IIS Manager, delete the Virtual Directory that was created for rDirectory 1.3.x (by default this is called ‘Namescape’)

4)      Install rDirectory 1.4.x per the Installation and Setup Guide for rDirectory, making note of the physical install path where the files are copied to when you create the new Website or Virtual Directory.

5)      Restore any Design Folders under the \Framework\Config\Store path.  Restore any other .config files such as Defaults.config, or SchemaRules.config only if you have manually made changes to these files.